CANNT Awards of Excellence

Terms of Reference

1. CANNT recognizes and celebrates excellence of members through the annual Excellence in Practice Awards Program.

2. The recipients receive a certificate of recognition. CANNT Novice Award recognizes and celebrates excellence of members with 1 -5 years of nephrology experience. The recipients receive a certificate of recognition, one per region and one for a technologist.

3. This program is open to all CANNT members. All award winners must be members in good standing at the time of nomination and prize reception. Multiple applications can be placed however each member will only be awarded one award per year.

4. Nominations are accepted for the following categories:

Clinical Practice

Nurses who:

  • Establish caring patient/family relationships,
  • Resolve difficult patient or family situations,
  • Identify or resolve ethical dilemmas effectively,
  • Show great knowledge and skill in nephrological patient care,
  • Demonstrate assessment skills or psychosocial support.

Technological Practice

Technologists who:

  • Develop/implement programs incorporating quality improvement measures,
  • Are outstanding mentors, preceptors or advocates of research-based practice,
  • Demonstrate committed support to the health care tea

Administration / Leadership

Managers/administrators who:

  • Portray/demonstrate a commitment to professional growth of staff thereby enhancing quality of care provided,
  • Encourage autonomous and collaborative decision-making among staff.


Nurses or technologists who:

  • Develop and/or participate in research which enhances patient outcomes in the field of nephrology,
  • Advocate research-based practice.


Nurses or Technologists involved in staff or patient education who:

  • Provide creative, innovative learning experiences through which the learner may grow professionally.


Nurses or Technologists involved in mentorship who:

  • have a willingness to share skills, knowledge, and expertise
  • Demonstrate a positive attitude and act as a positive role model
  • Value ongoing learning and growth in the nephrology
  • Help motivate others by setting a good example of clinical excellence through formal and informal mentorship opportunities


Nurses and Technologists who:

  • have 1 – 5 years of experience
  • demonstrate enthusiasm and passion for nephrology practice
  • demonstrate promising qualities in areas such as patient advocacy, clinical practice, continuous learning, technological initiatives

5. Nominators/ Candidates will submit an application to the Awards Committee through the Head Office of the Association. The deadline for applications is May 1st each year. Candidates will submit with their application:

A brief description (400 words or less) about the Nominee and why they deserve to be the recipient of the award including but not limited to:

  • Practice (years in nephrology, preceptorship, technical teacher, charge nurse, education)
  • Continuing education activities
  • Certified in Nephrology (year certified)
  • Involvement in CANNT
  • Participation in other professional associations
  • Presentations or publications
  • Involvement in leadership projects
  • Digital photo
  • Short Biography

6. The Awards shall usually be presented annually, but, if in the opinion of the Awards Committee, no suitable candidate is available, the Award shall not be awarded. A maximum of eleven awards shall be given in any fiscal year.

7. The Awards Committee shall choose the recipient(s) of the award.

8.The Awards Committee shall report its choice(s) to the Administrator by July 31st in the year for which the award is made.

9. The President of the Association will notify recipient(s) not later than July 31st in the year in which the award is made.

10. The recipient(s) is not required to give an address or paper, but the awards will be announced, and the awardee(s) recognized at the Annual Meeting of the Association.

11. The amendment of the Terms of Reference is the responsibility of the Association. The terms of reference should be reviewed every five years.