Nephrology Fact Sheet July 2019
Discovery Week Infographic
CNEPH(C) Prep Course (members only)
CNeph(C) Recipients



CANNT actively supports and promotes the certification in nephrology nursing provided by the Canadian Nurses Association.

For more information on certification contact the Canadian Nurses Association 1-800-361-8404 or www.cna-nurses.ca.

New requirements to make certification more accessible

CNA wants certification to be more accessible to nurses while maintaining their established high quality and credibility. They have heard from you that the CNA Certification Program must evolve to match changes in nursing curriculums and practice. That’s why the eligibility specialty experience hours required for nurses to apply for certification will be reduced. There are two options:

  1. 1,950 hours of experience in your nursing specialty within the last five years (formerly 3,900 hours).
  2. 1,000 hours of experience in your nursing specialty within the last five years plus 300 hours of formal education, which can be a specialty post-basic course or program at a college/university (as opposed to the former 2,925 hours of specialty experience plus education).

For more details, see the application process.

Certified RNs are recognized nationally for their practice excellence and commitment to lifelong learning;
valued by employers, because their certification demonstrates specialized knowledge and brings many benefits to organizations; viewed as having enhanced professional credibility.

CNA Certification Important Updates:

– See more at: Renewal Process

Important dates 2024:

Initial or renewal by exam

Application window Exam window Results
Spring 2024 January 11 – March 31 May 1 – 15 June
Fall 2024 June 10 – September 30 November 1 – 15 December

Renewal by continuous learning (CL)

Application window
Renewal by CL January 15 – December 15, 2024

CNeph(C) Recipients

Achieving this credential requires a commitment to our nursing specialty group, and a desire to be the best you can! Ongoing CNA certification demonstrates that you’re committed to an advanced standard of professional competence and have a comprehensive understanding of our nursing specialty.

CNEPH(C) Recipients 2018


CANNT actively supports and promotes certification in nephrology technology.  The basic eligibility requirement for being examined for dialysis certification in Canada is the applicant’s active registration with their Provincial association as a Certified Engineering Technologist (CET), Applied Science Technologist (AScT), or Certified Technician (CTech).

  1. The applicant shall have a minimum of three years’ related experience (two years if the candidate is a graduate of a recognized post-secondary programme and has served an internship) working full time in a dialysis unit or in the dialysis industry.

Applicants who are graduates of a recognized biomedical post-secondary program accredited by the Canadian Technology Accreditation Board (CTAB), and/or recognized by the Board, will be allowed to count a maximum of 1-yr internship period as part of the 3 year requirement.

  1. It is not necessary that the applicant be currently employed by a hospital, but it is required that the applicant has the above experience.
  2. The applicant shall submit the names of at least 3 references for the dialysis technologist/technician certification. These references must be healthcare professionals who are familiar with the individual’s competence in the following areas:

Technical ability

Clinical experience interfacing with physicians

Clinical experience interfacing with nursing staff

For more information on the latest development CLICK HERE